Follow us and like our posts

College of Architecture
Texas Tech University
Mail Stop 42091
Lubbock, Texas 79409
Phone 806-742-3136
Email: architecture@ttu.edu

The National Architectural Accrediting Board provides the following statement:

“In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.”

Texas Tech's Master of Architecture is a professional degree and is accredited by NAAB. Texas Tech's Bachelor of Science in Architecture is a non-professional degree and is not accredited by NAAB.

M.Arch (pre-professional undergraduate degree + 42 graduate credits)

2016 NAAB Accreditation Materials

NAAB 2014

Analysis of the National Architectural Accreditation 2010 Site Visit